Anthropological Excursion

MYCENAE – NAFPLIO

SCHEDULE

Date: July 23, 2022
Time: 8:00 – to – 20:00

LOCATION

Mycenae and Nafplio, Peloponnese

segments

Depart Athens and travel across the Corinth Canal to reach Mycenae.
Explore Palatial complexes, Cyclopean masonry, the “Tomb of Agamemnon”
Arrive in Nafplio
Visit the 17th century Palamidi Castle.
Explore Nafplio at your own pace, ancient walls, medieval castles, monuments and statues, Ottoman fountains and Venetian or neoclassical buildings.
Stroll the narrow streets with restaurants, cafes and local product shops.
Stop at Syntagma square
Visit Nafplio Museum.
See Bourtzi fortress.
Visit the ancient Epidaurus theater.
Departure and return to Athens.

 

Description

Mycenae is considered the greatest and richest kingdom of the later Bronze Age around 1350 B.C. Walk around the archaeological park, pass through the great Lionesses Gate, explore the Ancient Treasure of Atreus also known as King’s Agamemnon Tomb as well as the Tomb of Clytemnestra. Admire the Palace and the Gold Mask of Agamemnon.

The archaeological site of Mycenae is 140km from Athens and 24km from Nafplio.

One of the most beautiful towns in the area of Argolis (in eastern Peloponnese) as well as one of the most romantic cities all over Greece, Nafplio was the first capital of the newly born Greek state between 1823 and 1834.

According to mythology, the town was founded by Nafplios, the son of god Poseidon and the daughter of Danaus (Danaida) Anymone. The town’s history traces back to the prehistoric era when soldiers from here participated in the Argonautic expedition and the Trojan War alike. The town declined during the Roman times and flourished again during the Byzantine times. Frankish, Venetian and Turkish conquerors left their mark in the town and strongly influenced its culture, architecture and traditions during the centuries.

Ancient walls, medieval castles, monuments and statues, Ottoman fountains and Venetian or neoclassical buildings mesmerize the visitor with their unique architecture and beauty.

DIMITSANA VILLAGE

SCHEDULE

Date: July 23, 2022
Time: 6:00 – to – 18:00

LOCATION

Dimitsana, Greece

segments

Meet driver/guide at 6:00 a.m. departure.
Towards the Corinth canal and make a quick 10 min stop to see the canal.
Visiting the Water-Power Museum
Visiting the amazing Prodromou & Emialon monasteries, Lousios river/gorge and the remainings of ancient Gortys, one of them requires an easy 15 min hike/walk.
Short walks through the narrow stone build roads of the villages.
At lunch time, enjoy authentic Greek culinary.
Departure

Description

The Monastery of Prodromos is built on the root of a cliff on the left side of the ravine Lussius, near the villages of Stemnitsa and Dimitsana (Map D3) (D7 Route). The landscape is impressive and reminds Meteora and the Great Cave.

The church of St. John the Baptist is aisled vaulted basilica and is decorated with remarkable frescoes. Murals are outside the temple magnetizing look every visitor.

This monastery as a priory monastery was probably in the mid 16th century. but since the 12th century. flourished in many hermitages district importantly that of John the Baptist. During the Turkish occupation (16th c.) These retreats are united forming the monastery. Since the beginning of the establishment was stavropegic.

During the revolution of 1821, the monastery became a refuge and hospital for the fighters. In 1834 the monastery was dissolved due to a decree dissolving the monasteries, which are below 7 monks. But 1838 repopulated the monastery and became a great physical and spiritual.

Today the monastery operates a painting workshop and sewing holy garments and there is a remarkable collection of about 1000 books. The monastery of Prodromos, continuing the old traditions, a religious and cultural center of the region.

The number of visitors who flock each year is huge, because apart from spiritual exaltation, offering the monastery is built in a landscape of indescribable beauty, on towering rocks in lush vegetation and below sound the hum of waters of river Lucius.

Its possession are old documents, sigillia Patriarchs, purchases and donations bonds, while the code of the monastery is located in the Library of Dimitsana. The monastery is normally supplied with water and supplied with electricity. From 1976 to 1982 he worked School for oligogrammatous Priests and Monks from which graduated 45.

Unfortunately when the monastery was dissolved in 1834, arrived state step and 16 trucks Animals took valuable movable property of the monastery and the relics of St. Athanasius Christianoupoleos.

Fortunately, the monks managed to preserve 87 bonds dating from 1616 to 1831.